The security log is an in-game console which provides information on hack attempts to a player's network. When a player logs in, a visual indicator (exclamation mark) will appear over the console to indicate that there are security events to review. Replays are available to view for 7 days and the logs are available to view for 14 days.
Available Information Edit
The security log provides detailed information of every hack attempt including:
- Player codename, level and country
- Programs used for the attack
- Date and time of the attack
- Result of the attack. This can be either Hacked (one of the hacking objectives have been fulfilled; core, resources, control) or Secured (it was not)
- Points obtained (or lost) by the player as a result of the hack
- Resources (dollars and B-coins) obtained by the hacker
From the security log console the attacks can be replayed and an attacker can be retraced, unless the attack was a stealth attack.
Replaying attacks Edit
When an attacked is replayed a real-time simulation of the hack attempt is shown. This replay can be paused or restarted. There is no possibility to rewind or fast forward. A replay can be exited using the "Disconnect" button.
Replaying a successful or unsuccessful hack attempt can provide insight on how a network was compromised and how it defended itself against an attack. The replay will show the programs activated by the attacker in each of the nodes compromised (red nodes).
A player can find it useful to learn about different hacking techniques and the actual behaviour of different programs. This information can be useful, for example, to decide which programs should be investigated in the Evolver.
Retracing attacks Edit
Any attack, whether successful or not, can be traced to the originating player unless the attack was a stealth hack, which cannot be retraced. If the "Retrace" button is selected, the player will see the network of the other player and can decide to either attack it or leave it (disconnecting).
The player can only attack a player through a retrace once. Once an attack has been attempted, the "Retrace" button will disappear from the Security Log, regardless of the outcome. Consequently, it is advised to review the target network of the player, and adapt the program library accordingly before attempting an attack.
|Hackers Wikia - Gameplay|